Electric Bike, 40 mile range

garett0439

100 µW
So here my plan. Apologies in advance if i'm dreaming with this kit, i am no electrical engineer. I checked the lipos for noobs thread, but couldnt find the answers to my questions..
Buythe 48v 1000w bicycle hub kit, it comes with speed control and throttle and all that jazz. Here the link(http://www.saferwholesale.com/Rear-Wheel-Electric-Bike-Motor-p/48v%201000w%20rear%20motor%20kit.htm)
For batteries i'm planning to buy 13 Turnigy 5000mAh 1S 20C Lipoly individual cells, and wire them in series to achieve 48.1 volts, and a total of 65000mah.
However i am worried, will this be too many amps for the motor/speed control? If each battery puts out 20c, then i will have 260c total, at 48v. If Watts=VOltsxAmps, then according to my calculations my batteries would be putting out 12480 watts. I hope my math is horribly wrong, because thats a lot more than 1000w. My question is, will this configuration work? And if so, what kind of range can i expect?

What Alan said.

Getting a few terms mixed up I think.

The C rating is the maximum current capability of the motor. If the cell is 5 Ah, then 20C is 20 times the capacity. In this case, 20C would be 100 amps.

You can't increase capacity of a cell by adding them in series, only in parallel. Your 13 cell pack would still have a capacity of 5 Ah. The total amount of energy is going to be 48 x 5 = 240 Wh. For most applications 5 Ah is too weak and you will be loading the cells pretty hard. If you were to wire two cells in parallel to increase the capacity to 10 Ah, and put 13 of these in series you would have a 480 Wh pack. Now you can draw twice as much current; 20C is 20 times 10, or 200 amps. Please don't try to draw 200 amps :) Most controller outputs wouldn't exceed 120 amps anyway, but they are out there.