Dealing with drop outs Yuba Mundo build

grimbasement

100 mW
As is common after riding for a while I just had to do an upgrade. I started out with a early 1990's Giant MTB and added a 600 W rear BMC v2 with a 35A controller and a 36v 20 AH Ping pack. I loved it and put about 500 miles on it. I pulled 230 pounds of me plus 40 pounds of bike and another 26 pounds of battery and hub motor and 100 pounds of kids and 50 pounds of trailer plus groceries some times... That's 450 pounds :shock: . often up 5% grades (pedaling heavy in granny gear of course).

I'm still learning a bit about C rates and all that stuff. I don't want to hammer the battery or let the smoke out. So I set the CA to allow maximum of 24 amps, Typical cruising on flats with trailer and kids etc was around 7-12 amps. On hills Watts would max around 1100. I had the BMS kick in once when I pulled too many amps going up a hill before I regulated with the CA but aside from that no real issues. Performs like a champ.

So back to my point. I got really tired of lugging around the (poorly designed)trailer (and 100 pounds of kids really is getting to be a little too heavy for a crappy entry level trailer) so I bought a Mundo that I'm going to transfer all the ebike bits to. I have just a couple of questions.

The major one I have is an issue with the Mundo dropouts. The rear drop out is a horizontal 15 mm dropout... the BMC is 14 mm axel. I don't think I have to explain the problem with that any further. I do have a torque arm that I will be installing (do I need a second torque arm for the other side? Should I be looking at finding someone to braze something on to shrink the drop outs? I've ridden the bike sans power and the ride is uber smooth and I'm really looking forward to electrifying.

So hope someone here will have an idea on how to deal with the dropout issue so I can get riding in e-assist style again soon.