Amateur Opens Charger- Fixed!

silentflight

100 W
Oh Great Sphere,

I'm a total amateur, but you might get a laugh out of this. (scroll down for photos)

My 10 year old 36V charger has taken longer and longer to turn on its red power LED after flipping the power switch on. It works perfectly once it does turn on, giving the same 2.1A current it always did, but it takes ten minutes to turn on now so I've decided to open it up and attempt to fix it. It is branded "High Power" and looks just like this one on Justin's site, except mine is rated at 2A of charging current-

http://www.ebikes.ca/shop/ebike-parts/chargers/cg364lim-ez.html

I unscrewed both endcaps but the circuit board would not slide out. I tried heating the aluminum case to expand it, but no luck. Once I removed the sticker on the side (a-hah!), two screw heads appeared- after removing them the circuit board slid out easily.

I figured the problem was likely a bad capacitor, as TVs take "longer and longer" to turn on sometimes and bad caps are the problem. It also seems like a part that fails regularly and has a time constant related to it, unlike, say a resistor. So I expected to find a bulging cap inside, but to no avail! I did find a resistor that had turned the yellow "potting goop" (see photo) brown and it became suspect number one. Now you are familiar with (horrified by) the level of my analysis.

I removed the pictured resistor and tested it with my multimeter- it was 1500 ohms just like the color code "brown green red" specified. I also realized it was connected to the red and yellow/green LED indicators and was probably there to limit current to them. Since these LEDs were still working fine, it really wasn't likely to be the problem so I cleaned the holes with some braid and soldered it back in with a sigh.