Alterenative to Park Tool TS-2.2 Wheel Truing Stand

mamcinty

10 mW
I've been using ebikes for about 10 years now but have never needed to lace a motor myself until now. I have the wheel built but don't have a good way to true it.

My experience with tools is that it usually pays to just buy the "right/best" thing and I know many consider this the "standard".

Can anyone recommend a stand that doesn't cost quite as much but won't be a waste of money? I'm mostly concerned about getting something that is solid enough for a hub motor, which is why I am asking here. I don't mind making a base out of wood for it.

Thanks,

Matt

Take a bicycle and turn it upside down ;) cable ties or cocktail sticks taped to the frame will serve as run-out indicators.

Or build a stand, even if it's from wood.

I grabbed a fork and handlebars from a parts bike that I am going to try that with. I have access to tools and could build one but just wondered if there was another decent option I was missing.

Are any of the $50 to $100 ones solid enough?

mamcinty said:
I grabbed a fork and handlebars from a parts bike that I am going to try that with. I have access to tools and could build one but just wondered if there was another decent option I was missing.

Are any of the $50 to $100 ones solid enough?

I can't think of any options cheaper than the TS-2.2 good enough to bother buying. Just make your own basic one on your own till you're ready to buy the TS-2.2 (or something even nicer :D).

DIY stands: http://www.bikehacks.com/bikehacks/2012/06/7-diy-bike-wheel-truing-stands.html

After building your own or just putting the wheel in an old frame or fork, a tension meter is really the most useful tool especially if you're building electric wheels with thicker spokes who's tensions are harder to gauge by hand:
http://www.jensonusa.com/Park-Tool-TM-1-Spoke-Tension-Meter
http://www.wiggle.com.au/park-tools-spoke-tension-meter/