Large Chainring w/ Crystalyte Hub motor?

Drood

1 µW
Hello All-
A complete novice at this e-bike thing, so please be patient with my complete and utter lack of understanding of the basics. I've done quite a bit of searching through the forums for a topic such as this, and haven't found it, but please feel free to add links if I've missed something pertinent in the past.

More a hypothetical question; Would it be possible to pair a high-torque, "medium" powered motor with a bicycle that features a large chainring on the crankset? In theory, one would have electric assist while getting started from a standstill and at lower speeds, but be able to provide quite a bit of human power at higher speeds.

(For a very extreme example, albeit sans motor assist, see the Donhou Land Speed Bike: http://www.donhoubicycles.com/land-speed-bike/)

Would this work? I understand that wind resistance becomes a major hurdle for human powered bicycles at higher speeds, but could the motor offset this? And would you risk running against the motor and burning it out?

Please forgive my complete lack of knowledge! Just testing out this idea, as it is very hard to find any precedent for it. Thanks for any information you can help with!
-andy f.

Hello

The Schlumph planetary crankset comes in three models. It is a 2 speed crankset that does away with front dérailleurs and multiple chainrings. Their high speed drive has a 2.5 to 1 increase in ratio. For example it can use a 27 tooth gear in low and when high is engaged it makes it act like a 67.5 tooth gear. I've not used one but I'm thinking about getting one. If diving into the math of gear ratios, rpm, and cadence sounds like fun but might bore other readers feel free to PM me.

Sincerely mrDS