hold my hand please :)

dakh

100 W
Hi folks,
Total newb here, just wanted to run my build plan by folks who actually know this stuff.

I currently have a 201 wind Q100 front laced up to 700c rim, 48v controller from ebikelife and a 2x Turnigy 6s 5Ah packs. This is all rolling inside a steel frame, disc brake Jamis Coda Elite. I live in Seattle, so some hills out there, some pretty long mellow slope, a few pretty steep ones, one right by my house.

My goals are to keep it as simple as possible, and build something that speeds up my commutes. I don't want to geek out on this stuff much, nor do I want to set land speed records. I just want a robust fire and forget setup that is pretty quick. 150lbs and I can produce some wattage myself so the short super steep hills are not such a big problem, I can mash those to help out the motor.

Now, I got a couple of 14s5p Tesla packs form okashira here. The issue with my current setup is that it signs off a bit too early, I need it to keep adding power for maybe another 5mph if not 7. Effectively I want something that will be maxed out by amperage not by RPM except for going downhill. I want to max out on amps on flat ground with me contributing as much as I'd normally be doing sans motor.

So.. Here's what I have and what I am planning to get (and what I have no idea what to do with)

1. Keep the current 201 Cute for now since with 14s pack it'll probably be about as fast as I need it to be vs 12s pack that is a bit frustrating on the top end. Then upgrade to a slightly faster rear mini. I was thinking about getting mid drive first but now that I've experienced my current setup I'm not so worried about overheating going up hills. Will probably inject some ATF into the motor, get a spare ready to put in, and see what happens.