Problems with Q100 kit - total beginner

rossw

1 µW
Got a Q100 kit for my wife's beach cruiser.

First problem - rim on motor is much narrower than stock rim which is 1.75. Tires used on cruiser are 2.125. Is this safe on the narrow rim? (no size marking on the Q100 rim).
Also the narrow rim does not allow brake contact before the v brake arms hit the fender. I have adjusted the v brake washers as much as possible.

In addition, the motor appears to be off center in the wheel assembly. Even if I assemble without the fender, it looks like it I will not be able to get the brakes adjusted due to being off center.

Is this narrow rim typical with the Q100 kits?

Can I do anything to get the motor centered?

Thanks for helping out a newbie biker and ebiker

Ross

I'm guessing this is a rear motor? If so your learning curve is steep, but doable. How wide is the inside of the rim? How much offset does it have? Pictures would be helpful.
It seems that you will need to center the rim by making the spokes on the side you want to move to the center looser (use 1/4 turn to start with) and the other side of the rim tighter . This will pull the wheel towards the center. You may have about 5mm movement this way. I would go to my local bike shop and ask them to do it and true the wheel too. Money well spent. I'm sure you will hear from more members who will try to help. pictures please!
otherDoc

Guess OP missed the memo and multiple discussions about poor and unsuitable Chinese kit wheel builds?

Your best bet is to always buy loose motors (save a little on shipping) buy a quality comparable size rim (or teardown the bike current rim) - I prefer eyeleted Rims. Buy custom cut 13/14ga butted spokes. If USA? (please update your sig location) I buy them from Danscomp - not on website, call and ask which you must do for custom lengths anyway.

Learn to lace or take it to a shop. 1 cross is easier to learn than 3-4 cross on normal bicycle hub wheels.