Garage Sale Heinzmann, no controller

walterino

10 µW
I'm new to ebikes and need some help with a Heinzmann motor I picked up at a garage sale. The motor came with a rim and a Currie throttle, no controller or battery. I need to figure out what model Heinzmann I have so I can find a controller and battery for it. A wiring diagram and exploded view diagram of the motor would be helpful. It has two 18 gauge wires (red and blue) and two much finer wires (both black) coming out of the motor. Plate number: 870-00-114-05, serial number: F823346. Can anyone ID this motor so I know what sort of controller and battery to get for it?

Is this motor circuit hackable to the extent that I can get a lower cost afternarket controller and fit a generic battery pack to it?

Here's the rest of the plate specs. Can someone tell me what they mean? I got the watts and amps part but the rest is hard to figure.

h: 154/min
P: 400W
U: 24V

Betreisbsart S 2
18 min
RL 26/19
Mmax: 35Nm
Imax: 30A
In: 22A

dnmun said:
you can buy a 36V 500W brushed motor controller from ecrazyman on ebay, and get the throttle from him too. for cheap. he is keywin here on the sphere. i think.

Good tip. I'll check it out. But what about the overheating cutout switch? There are two wires for this coming out of the motor. Does this controller have a function to integrate the cutout switch?

dnmun said:
you can buy a 36V 500W brushed motor controller from ecrazyman on ebay, and get the throttle from him too. for cheap. he is keywin here on the sphere. i think.

Looks like his only unit with an over 400 watt capacity is a 48v 600watt unit. Will that work as long as the volts and watts are above the 24v, 400w specs on my motor?

the heinzman will not last long at 48V. it will last longer at 36V if you keep the power down. so a 36V 400W controller may be what you need then.

can you post up a picture of the cutout switch you talked about?