Bought the ride! Can it be electrified?

doc007

1 kW
So I finally bought a bike! It’s a DH bike Kona Stab Primo 2001. It has a nice front and rear suspension and the frame looks strong. Current weight of the bike is around ~42lbs. It’s not ready to ride yet, still needs rear derailer and shifter. After I get those parts I plan to take it for some downhilling to test the integrity of everything.

Unfortunately, I’m a complete newb when it comes to e-bike stuff so any help would be extremely appreciated.
I would like to use a hub motor due to stealth factor. As for batteries, I have no idea which to get. I figure the more efficient the motor the less battery power/space I will need? Ideally I would like to mount the batteries inside the triangle space I have.

Also, ideas on the best way to construct the torque arms would be very helpful. The rear dropouts aren’t the same as most bikes I’ve seen.

Below are some pics of the bike from someone else (bike is in my friends garage right now) and some specs:

Bike: Kona Stab Primo 2001
Bike Weight Stock Config: ~42lbs
Motor: Undetermined- Something stealthy (Crystalyte/ 9c?)
Battery: Unknown- Need ~24 mile range
Top Speed: 30-40mph
Brakeset: Hayes Hydraulic Disc brakes, Hayes Hydraulic Disc levers
Rims: Mavic D321 Disc
Tires: 26 x 2.60"

Attachments

• Overview 2.jpg
    Overview 2.jpg
    85.9 KB · Views: 2,466
Awesome ride and yea can be electrified - but I think anything short of a light weight RC drive system would be blasphemy on such a nice ride :)

-Mike

Hi Mike,

Thanks for the compliment! I agree that RC drives are nice. Unfortunately, I don't have the machines or the technical know-how to start building components for a nice RC set-up. The other problem, is the fact that it can be LOUD. I need stealth.

I figure a hub build would be a little easier to do, HOPEFULLY. Also hubs will help with the stealth factor. I hear that Crystalytes and 9C motors are super quiet compared to RC drives.