Newbie seeking advice

Hi all -

I've starting looking into converting a bike to an e-bike (I'm sure like many people lately, I want to stop using my car so much!). I have a few general questions that I hope you'll all be kind enough to advise me on. First of all, I'm a software developer and work mostly out of my house, so my plan is to start using a bike for local riding, errands, etc. Probably never more than 10 miles at once. Where I live is at the top of a long hill, which is why I'm looking for some electric help!

- On what bike to use for the conversion - I have an old road bike that I haven't used in 5-6 years. From what it sounds like, I would almost be better off just buying an inexpensive bike at Walmart or Target, rather than trying to get my old bike in shape - does that make sense?
- Since I'm just starting out, my plan is to get one of the Wilderness Energy kits (either the BD36 or BL36 - any thoughts on which one?). While I'm not a real bike maintenance guru, I'm usually pretty good at mechanical things (I can follow directions, etc!). Should I be able to hook up everything without too much trouble?
- If I get the WE kit, will I be able to swap out to another battery at some point? (a lithium-type one, for example)
- It looks like the WE kits have you mounting the battery on the rack in the back - how do most people carry other cargo (groceries, laptop, stuff like that) ?

I guess thats enough to start with :D This forum is great - thanks in advance for your help!

Cathy

connecticutcathy said:
Where I live is at the top of a long hill

That statement will really effect what you're going to need. More details please. How long? How steep? What kind of shape are you in etc. etc. :)