Newbie questions Lashout and BB-2590 (30v) Batteries

DrInnovation

100 W
I'm a newbie on just getting into ebikes. I moved and my commute is now 1 to 2 miles (depending on path) but has some 8 and 10% grades, so while I can do it on a bike my heart is racing and I arrive at work sweating. I don't really want/need speed or really long range and want some exercise just not wanting getting my HR to 190 and being sweaty. Read lots of things on ES and considered building my own, but trying to balance cost with value.

In look at building my own us also used and resuing parts I have from previous projects. Since batteries are often a very expensive parts I was hoping to reuse some military batteries I have from another project (I have 6 plus 2 charger2 and 2 flexible portable solar chargers). These are BB-2590/UBI-2590 (http://ultralifecorporation.com/be-military/products/military-rechargeable/bb-2590-ubbl10-01/) and are very nice rugged and reliable batteries. These are packaged with a natural serial/parallel format, nominally 15/30v with actual voltage range of 20-33.6v in the "30v" mode. Was thinking of using them on some 36v controller or+ rear-hub based setup on my el cheapo mongoose mountain bike. Or Maybe a Magic Pie 2 or 3 as they can handle the voltage of those batteries just fine.