Cy-Glide

damcard

100 W
Greetings, my name is David McArdle. I am a software developer in San Antonio, Texas. I have always enjoyed building things, although I have not been at it lately. That is all changing with my growing interest in e-bikes. Currently, I have very little in way of tools. I did not let it stop me though. I finally have something to show. I put a cyclone 1000 watt kit on my old Trek Y-Glide. I am calling it the Cy-Glide.
1st ebike 015.jpg

1st ebike 001.jpg

Basically its a Cyclone 1000 watt kit. I used 4 12ah SLA batteries in series. I fashioned the battery rack from angle aluminum, conduit brackets, threaded rod, and zip ties. It is solid but a little wide and makes it difficult to pedal. But that doesn't really matter because the Cyclone spins the freewheel bottom bracket way faster than my cadence. I really don't push this bike too hard because it is 10 years old except the wheels.

1st ebike 004.jpg

The motor sprocket is very loud. I will attach some video soon. The freewheel is very loud too. I will replace it soon. I didn't want to use the very long bottom bracket spindle that kit came with to clear the motor. I put the motor up closer to the front wheel so my feet will clear it. I still had to get a longer spindle to allow the right side crank to clear the rear fork. I have a pivot point between the motor and the bottom bracket too so the extra length in the chain I gained by moving the motor forward help solve that problem. I used the tensioner that came with the kit but replaced the arm with a longer piece of aluminum. It has not come off once yet. As you can see, I have no kind of water proofing, but I don't plan to run this one in the rain.

1st ebike 003.jpg

I put a 35 amp fuse inline on the pack as well as a switch to split the packs. I only have a 24 volt charger so I split the pack and charge one at a time.

1st ebike 002.jpg