Spec'ing Out My Utility/Commuter Bike

vwhammer

10 W
I am just getting into the details of my 2WD "utility" bike and would like to clear up a few details before I order the rest of the parts.

First let me start with the bike I am starting with.

Here it is loaded for a longer trip.

It is a 2010 Hary Mary XC 29er
Is all steel and obviously has zero suspension.
The bike as seen in the first pic weighs 28.85lbs (13.8kg) so it's no lightweight.
Loaded with all my gear and some extras that I probably did not need the bike weighed a bit over 80lbs (36.3kg)

This is a commuter and is used for groceries so I want to build it to take some abuse (relatively short term) while loaded down.
The city of Athens is in the heart of the Hockin Hills so, naturally there is some pretty hilly terrain.
We have the second steepest paved roadway in Ohio at 24% and there are several others real close to that number.
None are terribly long but there are several longer less steep grades (5-15%) that go on for 1 to 3 miles that I would likely have to traverse with some gear on board.
I intend to pedal most of the time but would like some assist to flatten out some of the steeper stuff.

For the record I am 6ft 1in and tip the scales at 240lbs (108kg)
I don't know that I need to go much faster than 20mph (32kph) but anything more would be a bonus
I would like to run a 48v 15ah battery in one of the more stable chemistry and am shooting for about a 30 mile range.

So with that said here is what I am thinking.
I currently have a 36v, 201rpm Q128H rated at 800w for the rear and a 36v, 201rpm Q100H rated at 350w for the front.
I have a pair of BMS Battery S12S controllers.
https://bmsbattery.com/ebike-kit/552-s12s-500w-torque-simulation-sine-wave-controller-ebike-kit.html

Where I need help technically is in how to control all of this.
Do I set up a PAS and/or throttle for both?
Do I use two LCDs to control the assist level to both?