EMMO Proton Shunt Mod?

Good evening everyone.
I'm a bit new to the ebike scene and I'm trying to squeeze a little extra top end out of my proton GTS.

I've heard that the shunt mod is the way to go to get what I'm after but my first attempt yielded literally zero results I've come looking for some more advice.
The controller has 4 shunt wires and space for a 5th, so I took some 14awg solid wire and soldered it in the empty place but didn't get anything more when I propped it up on a stand and went full throttle.
should my next step be just throwing solder on and wrapping wire around the current shunts to get as much metal on there as possible?

Here is the shunt configuration. This is the picture before I added the extra wire in the middle
20201127_181835.jpg

I have, I tried adding solder with no wire but didn't get any results. Exact same top speed. I'm having trouble getting the solder to bond to the circuit board though, I think my iron just isn't hot enough. I'm guessing this is likely my issue.

Millhouse_5 said:
I have, I tried adding solder with no wire but didn't get any results. Exact same top speed. I'm having trouble getting the solder to bond to the circuit board though, I think my iron just isn't hot enough. I'm guessing this is likely my issue.

The shunt mod affects the max current values of a controller. In general, increasing the max current (phase and battery) will not give you more speed except for maybe up a steep incline where the controller is hitting max current levels. You also have to have a battery pack that can handle the increased current draw.

Modding the shunt will increase the current limit but may do nothing for top speed. But you should reach the top speed faster and have better acceleration. If increasing the current limit doesn't change the top speed, then your only options are to increase the voltage or change the gear ratio. If you have a direct drive hub motor, the only ratio change is to use a larger tire.