Finding a battery - Alibaba?

weegee32

1 mW
Hi all,

I am fairly new to this forum (and type of project) but see that it is quite helpful when it comes to these e-builds. I'll touch on a little bit about my project and then ask some questions that I hope some of you can help me with or guide me towards the proper solution.

Background: So I am working on converting an old Yamaha DT100 dirt bike/street bike into an electric one made for the road. I am an undergraduate electrical engineering student so I figured this would be a lot of good experience and would be a ton of fun. I have already purchased my motor and controller. I went with the 72v, 5kW (air cooled) golden motor. I went with the controller they were offering for the motor as well. The controller is the Vector 300 (for 5kW systems) and has a max phase current output of 300A and a continuous current of 100A. My questions now are focused on the proper battery for this system that can get me around 30-40 miles at around an average of 50mph. The battery of course should output 72v and have a continuous discharge at??? This is where I am stuck.

I believe that the battery should, at a bare minimum, discharge roughly 100A continuously. Is this correct? Should it be able to discharge more given that the controller can pull 300A in some scenarios? I am of course on a budget for the battery as well (no more than a grand). I have looked at creating my own pack from some chinese LifePo4 batteries. I know this CAN save me some money and will also allow me to mold it's shape for the frame. I am going to gander and say I need a minimum of 30Ah for the type of range I am looking for in this terrain? If I go with my own pack, I am slightly unsure of how a BMS will tie in as well. Also, batteries in parallel can discharge at twice the rate that one of the cells is rated for?