Wiring Schematic Help

johntaz

1 µW
After doing LOTS of reading and gathering of supplies, I'm finally ready to start off my project. Build thread coming soon(?). I'm at a point where I need to figure out wiring before moving on to mounting parts on the bike.

Plan is to take 10 Nissan Leaf modules (got for free, basically) for a 20s 72v setup. Already purchased the QS138 90h 4kw motor and SVMC 72200 controller. I have the battery pack mounted to the frame, and place carved out for the motor/controller.

Would you mind taking a look at my wiring diagram and letting me know what you think? I have some experience rewiring ICE motorcycles, but this is my first attempt at creating a diagram from scratch. Feel free to rip it apart.

Kawasak-e wiring.JPG

Thanks for your diagrams, Jim. I agree, it's simplistic, but it's more meant to be just the powertrain and major components, similar to your first diagram. The 12v wiring is more within my comfort zone, so I haven't bothered with that diagram, yet. I like the way you separated out your diagrams. I might borrow that idea from you. At this stage, I just want to get the bike moving under it's own power, SAFELY, first.

I did put in a main contactor. It's right in the middle on the diagram. My attempt is to power the system with the key switch, have that turn on the resistor relay and trip a programmable digital timer {~5 seconds), and then have the contactor close with no additional input from me. Can anyone weigh in on this and let me know if they think this would work?

I also want to wire up the dc/dc after the bms, so it doesn't draw power when the bms is off. The and bms I have turns off and on with a momentary switch - am going to try to wire that up to the the "reverse" button on my handlebar controls.

Any other feedback on the way I have this? Is it workable and safe? Or am I going to blow my garage up? Anything that you can suggest to tweak?

Interesting to see those wiring diagrams.

One question: