4kw QS hub motor - More power

MitchD

1 µW
I have just got my hands on one of these manufactured by ZHEJIANG TIANYING–

Go Charged Moped.png

I am new to EV’s so I am really after a little advice to make sure I’m on the right track from what I have read on this forum already. From what I have been able to find out from the supplier the bike is fitted with a votol EM100 controller, 12” 4kw QS hub motor and 72V 30ah battery.

In the quest for speed I will be looking to buy a program cable to remove that pesky 50km/h limiter. Beyond this, I want to tweak some more settings. I’m not sure what cell/configuration the battery is made from, but it has a 100A circuit breaker on the side. Is worth pulling out the battery box out to peak inside? And if I do, what am I looking for to determine what current I should be pulling? It does say Model: JD72V30AH but it didn’t bring much up in a google search.
Also do the QS hubs motors have temperature sensors?

My initial goal is to be able to ride in an 80km/h speed zone for about 5 Kms on part of my morning commute. Hopefully achievable with the current hardware and if the battery can handle it, I would also consider going straight to a EM150 if the performance gains are there

Ultimately, I want to make this bike into a really fun machine to ride and hopefully learn about power electronic along the way. I think I would like to eventually upgrade everything to run a 12kw QS hub motor, but I’m pretty naive about what this would entail…

Any suggestions/comments welcome.

Bike + rider = 160kg

The motor will probably be capable of a lot more.
The question is more what winding it is, if it is limited to 50km/h with a 72V battery it might be a very slow winding.
If it isn't I think you will come a long way with a controller upgrade and a battery that can deliver.
It looks like a short wheelbase, the motor would probably be capable of enough torque to flip over backwards.