Sur Ron/Luna XX "Ludicrous" mod

Maybe shunting the controller and battery? I'm new to all of this and don't understand any of it. Luna did say that the stock battery can't be used with the XX controller, so they must have shunted the battery as well?
I just got an XX and I'm loving it, but I'm curious what's different in case I need a second battery at some point.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kjQT7CpUh-M&list=PLCK7ceSmEyJgcUtzJ9cPhjrZ2JkyHWXKG&index=158&ab_channel=stepusak

The old mod for bypassing the legal restrictions is the green wire in the connector https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ld_y116G4uY might not be what your looking for if its another mod, then they would have their own controller or hacked stock controller. Differences could be voltages, bms or discharge in the battery or controller differences.

calab said:
The old mod for bypassing the legal restrictions is the green wire in the connector https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ld_y116G4uY might not be what your looking for if its another mod, then they would have their own controller or hacked stock controller. Differences could be voltages, bms or discharge in the battery or controller differences.

The XX model uses the stock X controller but definitely hacked, either through programming magic or hardware mods.
According to Luna their controller mod is too much for the stock battery, so they did something there as well, also the battery range doesn't seem to differ from stock despite double the torque.
Also, the stock gauge lags on the XX which is a symptom of shunting from what I've gathered.
With lots of digging my best/uneducated guess is shunting of both controller and BMS...which would make sense why Luna has only released 100 of the XX units per year, as it's way too much labor to make it mass-producible on their end while keeping the blessing of their stock supplier, Sur Ron.