Electrifying a Lance Cali Classic 125 (Honda Joker Clone)

Higherwire

1 µW
Hey all, I started a company that repurposes lithium batteries for stationary energy storage applications. Since many of the batteries we receive are from scooters and e-bikes, we’ve refurbished a few to go back into scooters and e-bikes for several employees. I recently found a cherry Lance Power Cali Classic with a blown GY6 engine. And while I have plenty of experience with ICE that meant it would’ve been cheap and easy to rebuild, that kind of goes against the grain of what we do. So we’re going to build a shop scooter for local events and pickup/deliveries.

Thankfully a lot of the prep work has been done by JimVonBaden in this Vespa build. That includes replacing the integrated cantilever swing arm and switching to hydraulic rear disc, which is our exact same scenario. Our plan is a 5kW QS hub motor and controller, which will leave plenty of room in the middle for battery. This is a cruiser so unsprung weight isn’t a high concern.

How we picked her up:
A2910B60-DA0E-4628-8544-7C3498E4FCD7.jpeg

How she sits now
49ACEC9D-AB9D-49AF-996E-CF05426B92F6.jpeg

That’ll buff out?
DD77F21E-F984-465E-9380-27D4253A079F.jpeg

This is the engine mount, which allows for some additional rotation beyond the engine/swing arm itself. Might replace this with a bar welded to the rails with tabs for the custom swing arm. Really going to have to think about how we do this since the frame rails are 10” apart and we’d need a 15” long bolt if we simply went through the existing tabs.
88EF9F72-6F5A-4423-8165-E36A048458EC.jpeg

Should be a fun scooter. We've found a cheap swing arm that we'll strengthen a bit and add shock mounts. Dimensions appear to be what we need, will need to weld to the frame a cross member with mounting tab and modify the ends for pinch bolts.
61cKOiEp9sL._AC_.jpg