Jerry Can Mini Electric Motorcycle

mtblink

100 µW
I decided to publish this build after completion because honestly I wasn't sure it was going to be successful (first build). This may actually be my first post on this forum but I have received an immeasurable amount of help from everyone's posts here so I'm happy to finally contribute.

I'm new to steel fab (don't look at the welds, its a developing skill) so one of the goals with the design was to make it as simple as possible as far as the steel work goes. I'm okay with 3D-printing so for non-structural items I went for the printed parts. The other criteria was that I was set on the QS Motor 3000W mid-drive swingarm setup because I know its a well sorted little power plant. I have it's 1500W little brother on a purchased E-moto (CSC city slicker). My goal with this mini moto was to double the range of that bike and increase the torque and speed a bit too.

Basic details:
  • -QS 3000W 138 72V Mid Drive Motor 12inch Assembly
    -Votol EM150SP Controller
    DKD speedometer and Z6 throttle
    -72V 45.6 AH 24S-12P custom LiFePO4 battery pack using K2 26650 cells
    -IRC 100/90-12 and 120/70-12 street/trail tires. (They won't see dirt I just like the scrambler look)
    -735mm pit bike forks and triple clamp
    -Off-road driving lights as headlights
    -Nose-less bicycle seat (actually really comfortable but no room to move around though)
    -2x4" and 2x2" 0.12" thick tube steel for frame. (Overkill for sure on the thickness but the benefits out-way the weight penalty I think)
    -2" OD .12"thick pipe for swing arm pivot extension and head tube.
    -3/4" 14ga sq steel tube for battery box/controller frame
    -Printed parts are carbon fiber infused poly-carbonate (heat and weather resistant, honestly I'm skeptical on the actual CF benefit but it sounds cool and it gives parts a nice flat black surface finish).