Building my own battery module PART 1

Roeldebie

1 mW
Hi Guys,

Let me first say that I am by no means an expert in the world of batteries, voltages etc. at all. Despite this I m planning on building my own battery pack for my Torqeedo motor for my dinghy.

So, I own a Torqeedo Cruise 4 motor which consumes 4000watt at full throttle, has a nominal voltage of 48v so approx 83A.

Torqeedo sells its own battery for this motor, the Torqeedo Power 48-5000 pack (5kWh). This battery pack comes at a pretty high price, $ 5.000,00. For this money you get a battery pack with a very nicely integrated BMS in the battery which can communicate with the motor. This way you have all sort of information directly on the display on the motor like remaning sailing distance and time.

If you care about this data the Torqeedo motor can of course also be fed by a regelar external battery. Lead acid was immerdiately no option for me because of the weight. I then began to investagate which battery Torqeedo uses and found out that inside the Torqeedo Power 48-5000 housing a BMW i3 120Ah module is located.

So I bought this module this week and I m now up for the tast of making this unit ready for my motor.

Allright, let s first start with some basics that I learned. Please feel free to correct me where I m not thinking in the right direction.

The most important thing is the BMS system. As you can see on the pictures there already is a nice wire harness running to all 12 cells (Samsung prismatic SDI cells). The cable has a 26pin connector on the end. My goal in to connect a BMS module directly on this connector.

The BMS system itself:
I want a BMS system that can
- balance all 12 cells separately
- Also the BMS system has to take care of the charging process so I don t want my cells to overload the maximum capacity (4.19V)
- The BMS system need to check the cell voltage during sailing so it does not reach 2.79V
- Temperate will not be a problem so monitoring this is not really needed