Wh/mile vs. riding range for a battery

raylo32

100 kW
I am a retired engineer, not electrical, so while I am not an expert I do understand the basics and the math. One thing I am struggling with is how to determine the ultimate range I can get out of my battery that I of course know depends a lot on speed, assist, terrain, etc.

I have a bike with TSDZ2 running OSF that graphs out running Wh/mile on the display. My battery is 14s/52v, 12 Ah which equates to 625 Wh. On a recent ride I started out with a 85% soft charge to about 56.6V, rode about 35 miles and finished with an unloaded voltage of about 43V. I repeated the soft charge and my Grin reported putting in 8.1Ah which equals about 420Wh. The Wh/mile graph varied from zero to a peak of 8 and guestimating the overall average might have been ~4. So if I was really only using 4 Wh/mile that 400 Wh should have taken me 100 miles... which I know is never gonna happen. What am I missing here? Is the display under reporting Wh/mile, or what?

I found this info at tha internet

"recreational riders: 8-15Whr/mile
sport riders: 15-25 Whr/mile "

There is also other info at tha web

"On our folding bikes, 20 x 2.0" tires, at 132-13 mph, I burn 9-10 WH/mile while my wife uses 6 WH/mil. I'm 195 vs her 135 pounds/ I pedal continuously, while she goes on for a few seconds, off for a few seconds, so that duty cycle probably works in concert with the weight difference."

have uR own conclusions..