LiFePo4 BMS - Unknown Manufacturer and Questions

ninetyeighter

100 µW
Hi all,

First post, so to start off, I have been reading/searching here and everywhere for possible answers to my question(s). I am completely new to BMS's, don't have an EE background, but tinker enough that I can hack my way through stuff. Anyway, I'll try to make a long story short.

My friend won an auction recently for these 3-wheeled scooters called the EcoSpin Raptor. They were also licensed as the Vectrix ES3 in the US. EcoSpin was based in the UK and received street legal status for them. For that to occur, from what I understand, they had to pass some fairly strict automotive standards. The scooter has a Sevcon Gen4 master and slave, a Curtis Engage VII, and two independent 2kw motors for each rear wheel. Unfortunately, the company went out of business in 2015 or 2016, I think and as a result, there are no parts and very little information on them available. And there are certainly no way to get batteries for them.

The auction came with 8 or 9 battery packs for the 4 scooters. These packs are LiFePo4 1kw (48v 20ah). The Raptor has three "slots" for these batteries and can be charged offline and swapped in and out for no downtime. It can run on one battery pack with speed/distance limitations and can run longer, obviously, and faster with 2 or 3 packs. Of these 8 battery backs, by some miracle, 4 of them work perfectly. The others, I disassembled to attempt to create a new pack with the good cells. If you saw some of the corrosion, dampness, and smell of these packs, you'd be shocked there was even one good cell.