PTC Battery Heater?

Username1

100 W
I want to buy a Dualtron City scooter for year-round use in frigid Canada, so I'm investigating battery heating. The idea is to have the heating entirely powered by, and contained within the removable battery itself. This is because the battery is sealed whereas the compartment isn't (it has drainage holes), and I plan to frequently swap between two batteries.

I'm looking at using a PTC film heater placed directly under the cells. This is because PTC heaters don't need temperature sensing or electronic control, as they self regulate by becoming a resistor past a specified temperature. This makes them very safe and simple.

I think I'll need a film that runs on the battery's nominal 60v, and produces roughly 15-20°c maximum temperature. Is such a film available, and does this seem like a viable idea? I'm not experienced in this so any advice is greatly appreciated.

Dualtron_City_Electric_Scooter_4__11715.1650656360.jpg

I've been looking on Alibaba and it seems they're sold as floor heating rolls, cut to your desired size. Most are made for 240v and heat up to 60c.

This is obviously too hot for batteries, but that's assuming 240v which is 4x the battery voltage. However the seller said that at 60v the power output would drop from 240w/m to roughly 16w/m2. I'm not sure if it's a coincidence or not, but that's the square root.

I guess that means the decrease in maximum temperature wouldn't be linear either. Even if it was (providing a usable 15°c), the power output would be too low anyway with only a few watts for the size I need. It seems I'll have to keep looking.

H4c4c9ed1e82a4bd497a5ffe20650b3321.jpg_960x960.jpg