Can I just Upgrade the Hub Motor?

arkadd61

10 µW
So I have a USA version of the Lyric "Ranger" E-Scooter http://www.lyricmotion.com that I recently acquired. The USA version comes with a stock Bafang 48v 8fun geared front hub motor according to manufacture. My questions is simply this, Can I just purchase a decent higher Watt front Hub Motor for this scooter and get faster speeds and torque or do I also have to change out the stock batteries and controllers that come with this unit? I'm just curious if it would be this simple because the German Version of this same unit http://www.ebikeboard.com offers both the 500Watt and 1000Watt Front Hub motors. Do you think the stock controller and batteries will power a 1000Watt motor if I just upgrade the motor?

The Batteries are (25.6V - 14Ah - 305 Wh) x 2 batteries "Paired". I'm new to all this, so does this mean the this unit actually has 51.2V and 28Ah since they are paired batteries? Please let me know what I would need to do to increase torque for moderate hills and speed. I'm not looking to break land speed records or anything, just a little more zip yet not hurt my controller or hub motor.

My hopes is I can just swap out the front hub motor for the bigger 1000Watt and that will give me what I'm looking for. Thanks in advance for any input or advice. Let me know if I need to include any additional information. Thank you!!!

Yes. and no.

The bottleneck is your controller right now. the motor will take as much power as you feed it until it melts. the controller limits that power to a rather safe and boring limit. The battery should be able to handle 30 amps of output. possibly more, but it's impossible to guess without the manufacturer's specs on the cells.
Modifying the controller for 30 amps would give you roughly a 50% increase in torque. going beyond the 30 amps might damage the batteries if they aren't higher than 2C rated. But that is also close to the motor's upper limits as well.