Bare bones electric bike

psych0hans

10 mW
Hi guys, I'm pretty new to the world of E-Bikes and was wondering if there was a demand for a bare bones electric bike within a budget of ~750$? Something like the Sonders bike, but with realistic figures and expectations. Probably a 750W motor and a 10amp hr battery pack. Aluminum frame construction and a fat-bike layout. I'm going to start an Indiegogo campaign eventually, once I have frozen the design and components.

What Features would you like to see on the bike? What's the ideal price point to sell at? Suspension, at this price point, might not be possible, but I'll definitely look into it. What kinds of range and speed figures would you like to see? Would definitely love your input on this, thanks :D

A little about myself, I'm based in India and my dad owns a company manufacturing exhaust systems and windscreen wipers for all the major auto manufacturers in India. Not at all new to the world of manufacturing and sales, but completely new to something like E-Bikes. I was thinking of only assembling initially and then eventually start manufacturing my own frames and wheels.

The questions I would love answered are :-

1) What kind of frame?
2) What sizes?
3) Fat bike or not?
4) What kind of wheels and tires?
5) Motor, 350W enough or at least 750?
6) Battery pack? Is 10ah good enough?
7) Geared or straight drive?
8 ) Optional extras? like light, etc...[/list]

Currently in touch with BaFang for complete EV drive kits. Only look at Mid-Drive for now.

Start with a base model, and make it affordable to the general people or casual users.

You can offer options and upgrades once you can set the base price. People want affordability more than anything else.

You can start with SLA batteries, and offer Li-ion upgrade.

Ask your non-bike friends how much they would be willing to pay for an electric bike which would give them 15-20 km range.