GMAC on a new Mountain Bike?

Reap3r

1 µW
Hi all -- I'm new to bikes but I built a generic ebay kit on an old bike and now I want to build a trail worthy e mountain bike. Not for extreme mountain biking per say, but normal local mountain biking stuff, definitely off-road oriented. I'm new to the scene but have found there are a ton of trails in my area.

Sooo, I was thinking of getting a nice bike like a Trek Roscoe, but realized that the dropouts on a lot of mountain bikes won't work with hub motors. If I lower my price point, I can get a 2021 Trek Marlin 7 which has standard 135mm dropouts and woulds support a rear hub motor. I like this bike in particular because it has the "old school" dropouts, but still has a single front chain-ring/casset combo that the newer, higher-end bikes have. I'm planning to use a GMAC motor, Phaserunner, CA, Torque sensor, etc all from GRIN. About $1k in gear, and more expensive than the bike.

So my questions are:

1. Is this a good bike to start from? I would spend more $$$ on a better bike, but I'm not seeing many options that fit a rear hub motor
2. Is the GMAC a good hub motor for a mountain bike? 8T or 10T? I'm not looking for top speed, I have another bike for that. I'm looking for torque.

Thanks!!

Reap3r said:
Sooo, I was thinking of getting a nice bike like a Trek Roscoe, but realized that the dropouts on a lot of mountain bikes won't work with hub motors.
You can usually make torque plates that fix that. See some of the examples here:
https://endless-sphere.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=26444
and there are others around the forum in ohter threads.

Regarding teh GMAC, keep in mind that it doestn' have a freewheel in it, so without power it may be very difficult to pedal, possibly much harder than a DD hubmotor due to the planetary gearing

If you don't need regen braking, you could use the regular MAC, which has a clutch (freewheel) so it doesn't have much drag when unpowered.