Best way to install BMS's

okrobie

100 mW
I recently built my first set of batteries for an Ebike I purchased which came without batteries.

Based on space available, I chose to build 4 - 12V batteries, 24 cells, 8P X 3S each, using the HX-3S-FL25A BMS Module.
bms4x6.jpg

I had quite a bit of difficulty. The welded parts were fine, but I chose to solder on the BMS's and even though I have been soldering since around 1955, my skill level at this point in my life seems to be on the decline. I had numerous cold solder joints and I seem to have over heated my BMS modules to the point of destruction. So after replacing about 3 out of 4 BMS's and reflowing practically all of my solder joints, I'm finally done. This is my first battery build project and hopefully I'll get better. :lol:

In review, it seems that most of my problems related to my method or technique of attaching or mounting the BMS's. Even as my soldering is improving with practice, it won't hurt to get some advice on the matter.

What methods or techniques do you folks implement that you have successfully deployed and recommend?

Thanks, Jim

Start with good gear. I have a Weller 8200 solder gun. It's great. I also have a Harbor Freight gun, which was junk, until I put Weller tips in it. I also have a Weller solder station, with a dial for temperature control. for finer soldering. Good solder also matters, While industry has gone to lead free, we at home need the old fashioned 60-40 rosin core solder. Melts at lower temperature. Cools nice and shiny. Also get a tub of flux to keep your tips clean.

I confess that my good solder and good flux were filched from work 25 years ago. The stuff I have bought in the past 5 years isn't as good. Probably safer, but not as good. The little tubes of Kestor solder sold at Home Depot are lead-free. I can't use that stuff,

I've noted that the BMS I buy must use lead free solder. It is harder to get the base layer to melt on the P-, C-, and P+ pads.