Sensorless Q128 cutting on high grade low speed - S09S

drebikes

100 W
Hi all, as the title says, I have a bit of an issue with my new setup. It's my first time using the S09S sensorless controller. Motor is a Q128 36V and 201RPM winding on a (for now) 24V battery.

Top speed is a bit low as you would imagine, but the battery is capable of 7-800W in a pinch.

I also have an S-LCD5 display, on which I didn't change any setting at all.

The thing is, what seems to happen, if I hit a bit of a hill at low speed (5mph-ish) and full throttle the motor/controller just cuts out. The BMS doesn't cut - checked with live DC voltage readings.

Any pointers on where to start? The googling so far didn't surface many clues, but I have a sneaky suspicion it's the sensorless (because frankly it's the only new thing in this bike vs the half a dosen I built already)

Thanks for reading

The most common reason for this problem is voltage drop under load.

If the controller is meant for a higher voltage battery than it's being used with, then the battery will only "work" for part of it's voltage range. The controller's LVC (which will shutdown the motor whenever the battery is below that voltage) will be set for whatever the typical minimum voltage (empty) for the battery it was meant to be used with.

So if the battery sags a little bit on the hill from the higher load, whcih is normal, then the controller may shut off because that voltage is too low, while under less load it isn't.

The same thing will also happen as the battery discharges and gets closer to empty than full--it will be lower than the controller's LVC.

The battery itself doesn't shut off...but the controller does.

Thanks amberwolf, makes sense. The controller is meant for 36/48V.

Any way I could modify the LVC in the BMS Battery S09S controller? I have a lot of experience with Infineon-s and XPD, but not with this.