Odd question in learning VESC and FOC-based controllers

I'm still learning the major differences between the controller types- FOC versus VESC, modified sine, ect.- but in seeing the tiny size of things like the Grin Baserunner versus what high levels of power they can handle, I started to wonder- what is their practical limit? How Big can a VESC get? Common FET-based controllers seem to progressively increase in size, but even the biggest VESC-based controller I've found is maybe the size of a notebook. And why is that?

Not sure i understand the question? VESC is the name of the open source software originally developed by benjamin vedder (Vedder ESC), it is a FOC controller
It can and has been scaled to whatever size :D

Axiom VESC with its’ thread here on ES can be looked at as an example of a 100kW high power vesc.

As for the mosfet vs IGBT hardware architecture i’m not the best to answer.. i think each electronic component has its uses, and mosfets mainly for lower power, lower voltage than IGBTs. Maybe arlo1 or some other power electronics guy can chime in here..

IGBTs generally have the advantage when you want to run over about 120v. Below that, MOSFETs will have lower losses.

CONSIDERABLE SHOUTING said:
I'm still learning the major differences between the controller types- FOC versus VESC,
Those are two completely different things.

FOC is a motor control method.

VESC is a specific controller design chain of hardware / software. Call it a "brand" of controller, if it helps. (all the versions I've read of here on ES happen to use an FOC controller method, as well)

modified sine, ect.- but in seeing the tiny size of things like the Grin Baserunner versus what high levels of power they can handle, I started to wonder- what is their practical limit? How Big can a VESC get?
How well can you design a powerstage? ;)