Purchase new or DIY

IanNoob

1 µW
I'm new to ebikes.
My issue -- before purchasing , contemplating getting a Biktrix ultra fs pro.
Comes with a bafang m620 mid drive and 11 speed rear cog.
What would be the upper speed limit of such a drive combo without the governed speed restrictions programmed in
I'd like to be able to go faster than the 28mph advertised in throttle only mode.
My communication with someone from that company said not doable. Is it ir isn't it? Or maybe I need to build my own?

I'd like to have an upper limit 45-50 mph
Cruise at 30-35 mph
Range 75-100 miles
Weight 185 lbs
Budgets no issue

Skill level -- worked on aircraft 15 years, currently electronic tech on light rail vehicle mass transit
So I think assembling my own wouldn't be much of an issue.

Are new bikes easy to reprogram or if I have to DIY my own il would like to purchase a dedicated frame that accepts a bafang mid drive m620 . I DO NO WANT TO DO A CONVERSION.
If there's substantial savings on a DIY I'd like to do that

Advice pls
Thanks

You might be better off looking at e-motorcycles. Bicycle components are not designed for those speeds. The cruising speed you want should be doable, but not with that range. Most of your power will be needed to overcome air resistance at those speeds. So you will need a large battery and the more aero your position on the bike, the better. Depending on the size of the battery, you can probably expect 20-30 miles of range? The top speed you want might be possible with an aero position on the bike, the right gearing, and perhaps the Archon X1 controller upgrade to 2300 watts. You can play with the motor simulator at Grin. They don't have the m620, but you can use the BBSHD motor.

https://ebikes.ca/tools/simulator.h...2&tr=11&batt=B5220_GA&axis=mph&frame=mtn_tuck

You should plan on a DIY as there are no off-the-shelf ebikes that can hit those speeds with that range. You'll need 2,500 watts of power just to hit 50 mph with no hills and no wind.