What Motor for Mid Drive diy build

cyclematt

100 µW
Complete novice on electric motors but competent in a machine shop.

I’m looking to build a mid drive kit for my bike from scratch but I’m baffled as to which motor to choose from to begin with?!? :|

Anyone able to help? I’m sure there are lots of variables to consider but maybe a list/guide with links of motors available would be a good start for me.

A couple of specifics, I’m looking to power it by a PAS sensor so a brushless motor with hall sensor would be best.

Many thanks
Matt

If you have a standard 68-73mm threaded bottom bracket, get a 52V bafang bbshd with 52V battery capable of 50A.

Alternatively you could look at the GNG cyclone 3000 kit, or the CYC x1 stealth / pro.

If you don’t have a standard bottom bracket (eg press fit) it’s a bit harder, maybe choose a different bike.

You need somewhere to mount the battery in the frame or on a rear rack

There are several choices if your frame has a standard bottom bracket. However your expectations, location and mechanical abilities will govern which mid-drive kit is the best match for situation. We need more information.

cyclematt said:
I’m looking to build a mid drive kit for my bike from scratch but I’m baffled as to which motor to choose from to begin with?!? :|

Anyone able to help? I’m sure there are lots of variables to consider but maybe a list/guide with links of motors available would be a good start for me.

There isn't a list; as there are probably at least tens of thousands of motors you could use for this (likely many more) depending on your specific limitations, including size, shape (where it will go), torque, power, RPM, shaft type (if even using a shaft), motor type (brushless, brushed, which class of brushless (many types available), quality expectations, budget, etc.