24 Volt Voltage regulator?

Can anybody point me to a source for a 24 Volt Voltage regulator, or a simple way to build one? I would like to run my 500Watt, 24V cyclone motor off of 36V Bosch battery packs. It needs to handle 40 Amps peak. I'm an electrical engineer by trade, but I've been digital design for the last 10 years, so I only know 1s and 0s now.

I don't want to take apart the Bosch batteries as I would like to use the stock charger.

Thanks in advance!

StinkyGoalieGuy said:
Can anybody point me to a source for a 24 Volt Voltage regulator, or a simple way to build one? I would like to run my 500Watt, 24V cyclone motor off of 36V Bosch battery packs. It needs to handle 40 Amps peak. I'm an electrical engineer by trade, but I've been digital design for the last 10 years, so I only know 1s and 0s now.

I don't want to take apart the Bosch batteries as I would like to use the stock charger.

Thanks in advance!

Well I'm a mechanical engineer so you would know better. So I am just wondering if a set of regulator wouldn't work the same way as a set of 12v batteries. Could you wire 2 - 12v regulators is series like we do with the batteries? You should be able to find 12v regs easily.

If you have 2 isolated regulators they might work like that, but I don't recommend it. You're looking at $200 or more for those, better off buying a new motor for that price, or just hedging your bets and plugging into your current one at 36V, should run. Might want to keep an eye on its temperature for a wile though, make sure the paint doesn't start peeling etc.

doesn't the cyclone have a thermostaic switch in the windings? seems like that will protect against the overtemp. there have got to be dozens of threads on it here. i never had one so don't know.

StinkyGoalieGuy said:
Can anybody point me to a source for a 24 Volt Voltage regulator..? ... I'm an electrical engineer by trade.....