Damn rear derailleurs

Remus

100 W
Hi all,

I've been using a Lightning Bolts kit on my bike for about 5 years, have been through 3 rear derailleurs 2 rear cassettes so far.

I'm wondering if there have been advances in a gearing solutions for mid drive power delivery that's affordable and robust ?

Comments and thoughts welcome.

Thank you.

Having ridden 30K miles on a 350-500 watt mid-drive with a custom 14-40, 8 speed drivetrain, and 31.6K miles on a 3000 watt DD hub bike, so far, I can say that mid-drives are hard on chains, freehubs, and derailleurs. And if you don't replace chains frequently, you will be wearing out cassettes too. If you are running over 500 watts....fuggedaboutit!

There are several threads detailing experiences with IGH systems and mid-drives. the most bullet-proof system seems to be Rohloff, but that one is quite pricey, as is Kindernay. Some success has been had with the Nuvinci/Enviolo CVT systems, as well as the Shimano Alfine. Even some have used Sturmey-Archer hubs.

Few IGH systems, and even few standard derailleur systems were designed for any more torque that the average rider can put out, so adding all that power and trying to pass it through components not specifically designed for it mean that they can break, and even if they don't, they can wear quickly. The IGH systems don't require narrower, potentially weaker chains, and can turn a somewhat less wear-prone larger rear sprocket etc. A drawback is that failures are often difficult and/or expensive compared to common systems.

Remus said:
I've been using a Lightning Bolts kit on my bike for about 5 years, have been through 3 rear derailleurs 2 rear cassettes so far.

Chains and cassettes are highly disposable when used with high powered mid drives, but what are you doing to wreck your derailleur?

I'm thinking maybe you need a shift sensor to interrupt power for you.

For robust and affordable drivetrain parts, it doesn't get any better than Microshift Acolyte 8 speed: