Luna / LR Big Block build

Hey guys,

I'm a complete noob to the E-bike world so please be patient with me. I've read and reread the wiki as well as any thread that seemed relevant to my plans for this build. You guys are an extremely knowledgeable and helpful group so I'm looking forward to doing this build with some guidance from you. I have decent mechanical skills but I'm not an expert.

I'm a very dedicated archery hunter and I live in PA in the states. I'm doing this build so that I have a way to quietly travel between my truck and my treestands in the mountains where I hunt. I typically hunt 1.5-2 miles from my truck but will do 3 miles at times. Elevation gains during the ride are as little as 300' for the shorter trips to 2000' for the 3 mile ride. I weigh about 215 lbs and will be carrying a pack/bow that will add another 20 lbs. At times I will have a treestand with me to add another 15 lbs. I have a two-wheel cart that I will be towing behind me that will be empty on the way in and hopefully carrying a deer out on my return trip. The majority of my riding will consist of me and my pack/bow, I'll only be making return trips (mostly downhill) with a loaded cart and this will only happen about 4 times per year (limited by the number of deer I can harvest). I will be traveling on well-groomed logging roads so there won't be any hard-core off-roading in the plans. I need a bike that can do low-speed and towing well, I'm not looking to set land speed records. I need slow, controllable speed with good towing capabilities.

I've decided on the Luna bike for my platform and I'll be adding one of Mike's LR big block kits specially designed for the Luna. I'm having trouble deciding on direction in four areas:
1. Batteries: I'm torn between the Samsung 25R pack that Eric at ElectricBike sells and Lipo. I'm pretty nervous with Lipo given my inexperience and it's
reputation.