Neatest Mid Mount?

motas

10 mW
Hey all,

Been trawling these forums for the last few days since I've suddenly decided I want an ebike, it's too hot for pedalling :flame: .

The bike I'd like to convert is a 2017 Ragley Blupig. I think it's a great candidate, and as a bonus I already own it. It's a chromoly enduro hardtail, very strong, very simple and a blast to ride. I want to keep the feel of the bike, and use it primarily on enduro tracks.

I'd like to keep the conversion as "factory" as I can get it, ideally with the motor/gearbox integrated into the frame. I have a welder, and I am not afraid to use it! I'm also a mechatronics engineer, so I have access to CAD, FEA and CNC, so custom parts are not beyond me.

So I am looking for some ideas and inspiration for very neat mid mount motors. I think my best bet is to make a cycloidal drive to gear a brushless outrunner down to around 100RPM pedalling speed, but my issue is how to get that power to the cranks without backfeeding the motor or my feet. The three options I am considering at the moment is:
  1. Spur or helical gears between the gear reduction output and the cranks, my issue here is width and how to fit a one way bearing to the pedals.
  2. A second cog on the chain, my issue here is that it is not as neat, and also whether I can get enough wrap on both cogs without additional rollers.
  3. Mount the cog to the gear reduction output and somehow feed my pedal power into that. My issue with this is it seems kind of complicated, big and heavy to achieve.

So does anyone have any great ideas or seen anything like this done before?

Thanks in advanced!

Bafang ultra mount, been done before:

https://electricbike-blog.com/2018/03/03/choppy-shloppy-build-your-own-ultra-max-specific-frame-and-get-riding-already/

If you want more power, same formula, but you make a 136mm cylinder with a cut somewhere, so you can put the cyclone coaxial motor inside, with bolts fastening it in.