Can't Get #@!!@ Tire On Rim

LeftieBiker

100 kW
I just LOVE looking like a complete Newb. I really should stop buying things from Ebay, but anyway, here is the situation: I bought a 500 watt Das Kit 26" conversion kit on Ebay recently, so I could use the motor/wheel as a plug-in replacement for the really noisy Das Kit 500 watt 26" motor/wheel on my Magnum Metro Step-Thru. I also bought a new brake rotor and tire, so I could use the still-functional old wheel with the new kit, to convert an old EZIP later on. The tire I bought is a SCHWALBE Big Ben Race Guard Wired Tire, 26 x 2.15-Inch E-bike tire - the same tire the bike came with. I already had a Schwalbe 26" tube suitable for this tire size, along with a few other new or newish tires. Last night, I started to mount the tire and tube on the new wheel. And failed utterly, despite numerous attempts, most with an assistant. The tire and rim LOOK compatible, but with about 24" linear of sidewall left off the rim, the tire is stretched so far down the side of the rim that it won't budge. The tire is labeled that it is for "crotched rims" only. It's my understanding that all new rims are "crotched." This is also the same tire (except in a different color) that is on the bike now. I've mounted a few tires in my time - not a lot, but maybe 5 - and never had this much trouble. Is it really hard to mount to a "crotched" rim? To further complicate matters, there is a label on the rim tape that says "27.5 20". I was thinking "Crap! This is a mislabeled 27.5" rim!" But when I measured the circumference with string and did the math, I got something like 22.6" for the rim diameter. This is a 26" or slightly larger rim, but not a 27.5" rim...right? Was I really an awful person in a past life? Any other time I could drop everything off at a bike shop and say "Do this, please" and that would be it. But now, it looks like I'm on my own. Any help would be appreciated. Any insults should at least be amusing.