Seeking advice for commuter e-bike setup

John Well

10 µW
Hi all,

I am a total Newbie looking for enlightened advice ;). My commute is a mix of urban paths and country roads and is 18 miles each way. I have been biking it 2-3 times a week on a normal road bike. I usually average 17-18 miles/hr. I have been contemplating upgrading to an ebike setup with the following goals in mind:

- increase ride frequency to 5 days a week without being exhausted.
- decrease commute time/increase average speed.
- I still want to pedal and get a workout.

I have an old hard tail 26" MTB to use as a donor bike. Based on my initial research, it seems like a rear hub setup would work well as I want to keep maintenance to a minimum. A couple of questions:

1. I have looked at some articles on geared vs direct drive but am still unsure as to which would be better for my situation.
2. What would be an appropriate motor/battery combo (ie, power, battery voltage and amp.hours)? Ideally I would be able to go to work and back on 1 charge although I could recharge at work.

Any advice will be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

John Well

The decision on what kind of hub motor rests on the terrain. If you have substantial but not Monster hills on the route, then a geared 500 watt motor should work well. If you have long, steep hills, then a more powerful direct drive motor would likely be better.* Only use a 500-750 watt direct drive motor if you have little in the way of hills.

* I've never had trouble with the one long (3/4 mile), steep hill I climb regularly with my 500 watt geared motor, but popular wisdom is that they tend to overheat in those circumstances.

Thank you for the prompt reply.

there are a couple of hills. Total elevation gain is about 800 ft:
Selection_038.png

What kind of battery would you recommend if I went with a 500W geared rear hub motor?

Is Bafang the best option or are there alternative brands I should consider?

Best,

JW