First Ebike: Too much Battery ?

MacN

1 µW
I’m a total beginner here working on my first build. The bike is complete and I’m so far happy with the motor setup. I wanted a light, small motor that could accept a Shimano 1x11 drive train so I purchased the Bafang G310 (250w nominal) rear hub from Grin. I paired it with a Grin C-4820-GR_Higo 36v-52v sine wave controller. Then I purchased a 52v 13.6ah battery from EM3EV. Did I buy too large of a battery? I think the controller will handle it but I don’t want to burn up the motor. I’ve been using it and I have a lot of hills around here and it seems to be doing ok, motor case doesn’t feel hot after just warm. Also I’m using throttle only, no pedal assist.

Also I’m using throttle only, no pedal assist.
:thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
Can cause problems because of the old adage, the more wires and stuff you have the more that can go wrong. Then for a person like you, new, first ebike build, troubleshooting could be a challenge so good on you for going throttle only :thumb:
So ya just imagine if you went with a display kit like a KT, even more wires and even more stuff :shock:
Countless people coming into ES with an error code on their display.

Bafang G310 (250w nominal) rear hub from Grin. I paired it with a Grin C-4820-GR_Higo 36v-52v sine wave controller. Then I purchased a 52v 13.6ah battery from EM3EV. Did I buy too large of a battery?

I believe that controller is 25A, I remember looking at it or something similar yesterday browsing for a Sinewave, FOC with regen. Your battery is probably 40A so your good there.

52Vx13.6Ah=708watt-hours so depending on how much you pedal, hills, terrain, wind, your body weight, cargo, you'll probably be doing all right with range. 30wh/mile (20wh/km) will net you 23 miles or 35 km.

To convert to wh/mile you can go here https://www.aqua-calc.com/convert/electric-car-energy-economy/watt-hour-per-kilometer-to-watt-hour-per-mile
https://ebikes.ca/learn/batteries.html