Questions about Crystalyte 5303s

There's a Motor, controller and several Turnigy LiPo's for sale near me that I'm trying to figure out if even a complete newbie like myself should jump on. The Ad is for a Crystalyte 5303 motor laced into a 26" rim, a sabvoton SVMC7280 controller kit, a Turnigy charger rated to 400w, 3 Turnigy 6s 16aH LiPo's and a custom XT connector to string them together. They're asking $700, but it's been up for weeks.

My question is... what I can find implies the 5303 is a real old beast and doesn't rate much higher than the plans I already have working for a leafmotor build (albeit I could never find a max rating on the motor). I've never messed with Lipos, and I'd have to message the seller to see if it's a torque or speed winding, or the dropout size. Would you lads jump on it? Try to get a lower price? Or just let it slip?

The Leaf motor is significantly more efficient than the 530X, and it weighs something like eight pounds less.

I like my 5305, but I wouldn't choose it over the Leaf. When I bought it in 2003, it was the most efficient and powerful bicycle hub motor I could find. Times have changed and there aren't many remaining arguments to be made in favor of the big Crystalyte.

Chalo said:
The Leaf motor is significantly more efficient than the 530X, and it weighs something like eight pounds less.

I like my 5305, but I wouldn't choose it over the Leaf. When I bought it in 2003, it was the most efficient and powerful bicycle hub motor I could find. Times have changed and there aren't many remaining arguments to be made in favor of the big Crystalyte.

That's what I thought. Thanks for saving me some $700 Chalo!

Op, could you share where you are sourcing your leaf hub and controller from (pardon the newbie questions)

CONSIDERABLE SHOUTING said:
gobi said:
Op, could you share where you are sourcing your leaf hub and controller from (pardon the newbie questions)

I think this is their website.

https://www.leafmotor.com/