Electric Rider Kits?

DougalJacobs

10 µW
Hello everyone,
I'm new to Endless Sphere, and have been contemplating an e-Bike conversion for some time. I've been really impressed so far with all the literature and information that electric rider supplies about their kits and was wondering what the general consensus was for them?

In particular I'm looking at the 48V Roadrunner Kit, for use making quick hops around town (Denver). Would this kit be suitable for use on a Trek 7100 (http://www.trekbikes.com/us/en/bikes/bike_path/hybrid/7100/) I'm roughly a 170 pound rider and I don't really see any need to exceed 20mph except perhaps in emergencies, and a range of as little as 10 miles isn't a problem given how close everything tends to be downtown.

Would you recommend substituting parts from the Roadrunner 4825 Kit? Different controllers? I've love to get all the input I can before I undertake my first electric bike.

Thanks much!
Dougal

Crystalyte is a non geared, non clutched, non waterproof motor. Electric Rider says that a 7 speed rear motor is a special order, ( please tell us you are not going with a front motor) Be sure your rear stay widths are the right opening for the motor width.

Dont bother with SLA batteries, the hills in Denver will really decrease your range due to SLA weight.

Your Trek has 700c wheels, you will need some fat rear rubber, make sure the bike and rear hub motor rim will support big tires, 700x45c Schwalbe for example. You may not run that big a tire, but you would hate to be locked out if you wanted a bigger tire. Lots of weight over the rear tire.

I would go to Ft Collins and Boulder and ride what the local dealers have (21 wheels and Small Planet)
In Denver Bird Rv has some used Bionx around, you should ride some for a point of refernce.

D in colorado springs.