torque arms (do I need 1 or 2 of them?)

General Discussion about electric bicycles.
Post Reply
cgokey   1 W

1 W
Posts: 51
Joined: Jun 09 2016 2:43pm

torque arms (do I need 1 or 2 of them?)

Post by cgokey » May 03 2017 3:24pm

I've got a 48V 1000W rear hub motor and I've been reading it is recommended to use a torque arm when installing it.
The kit that I have doesn't include one, but other kits I've noticed sometimes do, but only includes 1 torque arm.
Can I get away with 1 or do I need a torque arm on both sides? What have others done?

Thanks,
Chris

eflyersteve   10 W

10 W
Posts: 68
Joined: Aug 28 2014 9:05am
Location: Oklahoma

Re: torque arms (do I need 1 or 2 of them?)

Post by eflyersteve » May 03 2017 6:01pm

If it is a steel frame and you stick to 1000 watts and don't use a lot of regenerative braking, then one should work. If aluminum and/or regen, then I'd use two.

Sent from my SM-N910T using Tapatalk

User avatar
dogman dan   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 36077
Joined: May 17 2008 12:53pm
Location: Las Cruces New Mexico USA

Re: torque arms (do I need 1 or 2 of them?)

Post by dogman dan » May 04 2017 6:14am

One for sure, but on alu frames I like to use two. But at that power level, one, properly installed, should be plenty.

The ideal on a rear TA, is when your frame has enough metal back there to bolt the axle half of a regular front TA to it. You toss the second half of the two piece arm, and just drill a small hole and bolt on the Axle holding part to the frame.

Post Reply