Sevcon Gen4 CANOpen (TwizyCfg) Help Please

ninetyeighter

100 µW
Hi all,

To start, I am completely new to this world. With that said:

I have a 3-wheeled 48v EV that uses a master-slave Sevcon Gen4 configuration (S2 36/48V 275A AC Motor Controller). The company that made it is out of business and I am trying to connect to the CAN bus. I have an Arduino UNO and the SeeedStudio v2 CANBus Shield and am using the Twizy-Cfg project to connect. I had to modify the code to use CAN pin 9 instead of 10, otherwise is repeatedly tries to connect. Once I switch to 9, it seems to connect and I get the menu in the serial monitor.

I have a DB9 to USB since the EV takes a USB connection. I was able to connect this way as well as the direct CANHI/CANLO connections on the shield. That is where my luck ends. No matter what commands I send, I always get the SEVCON OFFLINE response. After some digging, I thought it could be a CAN termination issue and I cut the P1 pad connection on the CANBus shield. I know for a fact that the company used to modify the Sevcon configuration using the Sevcon's Calibration programming tool (as opposed to the DVT software). I read the calibration tool's manual and see that it assumes that the master/slave configuration is terminated and that the calibration tool doesn't provide termination. So, I feel like I should be able to read the Sevcon name, or put it in to pre-op mode, etc.

I've also tried various versions of the CAN library that Twizy-Cfg uses and some of the basic examples for receiving CAN messages. No luck.

I'd love any troubleshooting suggestions or help. Given my almost no experience with this stuff, I am at a loss as to what the next step should be.

Also, here is a diagram I was able to track down to show the CAN Bus wiring on my EV.

RaptorCanbus.png

Thanks,
NinetyEighter

Have you checked the delivery date of your Twizy? Seems Renault was not happy with end users improving on their Sevcon configuration:
twizy.PNG