Hall throttle conversion upgrade

Place for dealers to post items for sale.
User avatar
gwhy!   1 MW

1 MW
Posts: 1651
Joined: Jun 08 2011 3:47pm
Location: Bristol, Uk

Re: Domino Throttle

Post by gwhy! » Apr 03 2014 4:04am

If anyone would like one of the hall throttle mechs then Im sure I can sort something out please PM me so I can get numbers and work out prices. I would not be able to supply the actual throttle or the cable as there are just to many variables but cables are pretty straight forward to do your self.

John in CR   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 13578
Joined: May 20 2008 12:58am
Location: Paradise

Re: Domino Throttle

Post by John in CR » Apr 03 2014 10:29am

gwhy! wrote:If anyone would like one of the hall throttle mechs then Im sure I can sort something out please PM me so I can get numbers and work out prices. I would not be able to supply the actual throttle or the cable as there are just to many variables but cables are pretty straight forward to do your self.
So for that system we'd use a regular throttle with a cable, and then down somewhere safe on the bike would be the adjustable hall? Are they such that I can put 2 halls next to each other for 2 different controllers and just the one cable pulling them in unison? I'd be all over that, so I hope they're really easy for you to build.

On the adjustable part, without adding any latency, is changing the shape of the voltage ramp up possible? I need to soften starts without some of the other stuff Zombiess throttle tamers do.

User avatar
teddillard   100 W

100 W
Posts: 125
Joined: Sep 03 2010 11:25am
Location: Boston, USA
Contact:

Re: Domino Throttle

Post by teddillard » Apr 03 2014 12:35pm

gwhy! wrote:If anyone would like one of the hall throttle mechs then Im sure I can sort something out please PM me so I can get numbers and work out prices. I would not be able to supply the actual throttle or the cable as there are just to many variables but cables are pretty straight forward to do your self.
I'd certainly be in on it. PM sent. :D
Power in Flux: The History of Electric Motorcycles (on Kickstarter):
https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/95 ... otorcycles

The Electric Chronicles
http://www.evmc2.com

Power in Flux: The History of Electric Motorcycles
http://powerinflux.wordpress.com

User avatar
Willow   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 803
Joined: Sep 06 2011 7:42pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: Domino Throttle

Post by Willow » Apr 03 2014 3:44pm

I'll get a couple.... PM sent.

User avatar
Thud   100 MW

100 MW
Posts: 2686
Joined: Aug 20 2009 6:20am
Location: West Michigan,USA

Re: Domino Throttle

Post by Thud » Apr 03 2014 6:00pm

These are actually very good
http://www.powersportsplace.com/parts/e ... MgodClsASw

:arrow: gwhy, can you post a simple sketch of you magnet(s) lay out & the hall sensor you use? I may take a crack at fabbing one up for myself.

Thx in advance.
get some......

All information & advice provided by Thud are "Open Source" & free for personal use & distribution under the following agreement linked below.
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/

User avatar
gwhy!   1 MW

1 MW
Posts: 1651
Joined: Jun 08 2011 3:47pm
Location: Bristol, Uk

Re: Domino Throttle

Post by gwhy! » Apr 03 2014 6:33pm

John in CR wrote:
gwhy! wrote:If anyone would like one of the hall throttle mechs then Im sure I can sort something out please PM me so I can get numbers and work out prices. I would not be able to supply the actual throttle or the cable as there are just to many variables but cables are pretty straight forward to do your self.
So for that system we'd use a regular throttle with a cable, and then down somewhere safe on the bike would be the adjustable hall? Are they such that I can put 2 halls next to each other for 2 different controllers and just the one cable pulling them in unison? I'd be all over that, so I hope they're really easy for you to build.

On the adjustable part, without adding any latency, is changing the shape of the voltage ramp up possible? I need to soften starts without some of the other stuff Zombiess throttle tamers do.
a regular motorcycle throttle body, with a cable to suit, you may have to shorten a throttle cable as off the shelf cables tend to be a bit to long. The length of cables I use are typically around 50cm. the box can be mounted anywhere but would advise to mount it on the forks or in the center of the handle bars as this eliminates any movement in the cable when rotating the handlebars. you can just use the one hall sensor to drive 2 controllers or you can get a 2way cable splitter and use 2 hall boxes from one throttle , either way will work. the voltage output is linear from the hall sensor but you can buy throttle tubes that have different cam profiles that do alter the rate at which the cable moves through the range of travel.

User avatar
gwhy!   1 MW

1 MW
Posts: 1651
Joined: Jun 08 2011 3:47pm
Location: Bristol, Uk

Re: Domino Throttle

Post by gwhy! » Apr 04 2014 4:28am

Thud wrote:These are actually very good
http://www.powersportsplace.com/parts/e ... MgodClsASw

:arrow: gwhy, can you post a simple sketch of you magnet(s) lay out & the hall sensor you use? I may take a crack at fabbing one up for myself.

Thx in advance.
the hall sensors that I have been using upto now are these A1301 , the only potential problem is that they are only rated upto 6v supply , but all the controllers that I have access to have all been 5v supply on the throttle line, so far this has not been a problem for me.

the magnets are 6mm ( dia ) x 10mm round bar mags They dont have to be 6mm dia you will get away with 4mm and they are N52's .

I will take some photos of a device stripped down.

User avatar
gwhy!   1 MW

1 MW
Posts: 1651
Joined: Jun 08 2011 3:47pm
Location: Bristol, Uk

Re: Domino Throttle

Post by gwhy! » Apr 09 2014 5:59am

I have worked out the prices for the throttle mechs, and if I was to do 20+ then it works out at £15.00 each + postage, I was hoping that I will come in at a little less than this, but it looks like the price of the mags have increased since I last looked... each device will be in a plastic box with a approx 30cm throttle wire with no plug ( bare wires ) with no actual throttle or throttle cable. the hall sensors max supply voltage is 6v ,output is linear and can supply rail to rail output ( i.e 0v-5v) but very easy to adjust output limits by moving the magnets within the device.. If people are still interested at this price then please PM with numbers and hopefully the 20+ will be reached.. if not the cost each will be around £18 each + postage.

User avatar
gwhy!   1 MW

1 MW
Posts: 1651
Joined: Jun 08 2011 3:47pm
Location: Bristol, Uk

Hall throttle conversion upgrade

Post by gwhy! » Apr 09 2014 6:16am

I am making some cable throttle > hall output interfaces and just thought I would put this here just in case anyone would like one ( or two )
complete basic kit:
throttle kit.jpg
throttle kit.jpg (68.61 KiB) Viewed 5940 times
throttle mechs_not boxed.jpg
throttle mechs_not boxed.jpg (91.01 KiB) Viewed 6540 times
throttle hardware interface.jpg
throttle hardware interface.jpg (81.72 KiB) Viewed 7396 times
Last edited by gwhy! on Jul 23 2014 4:31pm, edited 4 times in total.

User avatar
amberwolf   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 25962
Joined: Aug 17 2009 6:43am
Location: Phoenix, AZ, USA, Earth, Sol, Local Bubble, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group
Contact:

Re: Hall throttle box interface

Post by amberwolf » Apr 20 2014 9:17pm

Price, etc?
New items: http://www.endless-sphere.com/forums/vi ... 31&t=25446
Used items: http://www.endless-sphere.com/forums/vi ... =9&t=28651
Do :
- Do describe in detail what you are selling
- Show any damage or scratches clearly..
- Do include Pictures if possible
- Specify if you offer support, or if you know nothing about the product..
- Do indicate your location < canada, usa, uk, etc.. > and are you willing to ship outside your country !?
- Price, with or without shipping


Do Not :
- Do NOT start multiple posts for the same item
- Do NOT cross post your stuff in other's posts for sale
- Do NOT use other peoples pictures for your items unless you have permission

User avatar
gwhy!   1 MW

1 MW
Posts: 1651
Joined: Jun 08 2011 3:47pm
Location: Bristol, Uk

Re: Hall throttle box interface

Post by gwhy! » Apr 21 2014 6:22am

the prices for the throttle mechs, currently it works out at £20.00 each with free uk postage, and £23.00 to post outside of uk,... each device will be in a plastic box with a approx 30cm throttle wire with no plug ( bare wires ) with no actual throttle or throttle cable. the hall sensors max supply voltage is 6v ,output is linear and can supply rail to rail output ( i.e 0v-5v) but very easy to adjust output limits by moving the magnets within the device.. The actual length of the throttle cable may need to be tailored to suit individual needs. For more information please PM me.
Last edited by gwhy! on May 10 2015 2:11pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
gwhy!   1 MW

1 MW
Posts: 1651
Joined: Jun 08 2011 3:47pm
Location: Bristol, Uk

Re: Domino Throttle

Post by gwhy! » Apr 25 2014 9:14am

for the guys that are waiting : just a little update..


I have most completed now and just waiting for the boxes.

here is a pic of a couple of them.
throttle mechs_not boxed.jpg
throttle mechs_not boxed.jpg (91.01 KiB) Viewed 3499 times

User avatar
gwhy!   1 MW

1 MW
Posts: 1651
Joined: Jun 08 2011 3:47pm
Location: Bristol, Uk

Re: Hall throttle box interface

Post by gwhy! » Apr 25 2014 9:16am

for the guys that are waiting : just a little update..


I have most completed now and just waiting for the boxes.

here is a pic of a couple of them.
throttle mechs_not boxed.jpg
throttle mechs_not boxed.jpg (91.01 KiB) Viewed 7184 times

User avatar
Willow   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 803
Joined: Sep 06 2011 7:42pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: Domino Throttle

Post by Willow » Apr 25 2014 6:10pm

Awesome.

cwah   10 GW

10 GW
Posts: 4142
Joined: Jul 24 2011 5:42am
Location: Between paris and london

Re: Hall throttle box interface

Post by cwah » Apr 26 2014 6:59am

I'm not sure what it is for, but I may be interested.

Can that be plugged into any controller and any throttle? It allows a smoother acceleration?
Help me find my stolen electric brompton: http://bit.ly/1a0vbBC and Bosch Sinus B3 http://bit.ly/1eV0WQz

User avatar
voicecoils   10 MW

10 MW
Posts: 2096
Joined: Sep 16 2007 6:31am
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia

Re: Hall throttle box interface

Post by voicecoils » Apr 26 2014 7:07am

cwah wrote:I'm not sure what it is for, but I may be interested.

Can that be plugged into any controller and any throttle? It allows a smoother acceleration?
It separates the hall sensor from the throttle itself. So, you choose any traditional cable operated motorcycle throttle and connect the mechanical cable to gwhy!'s box. Then you connect the 3 electrical wires from the box to your controller. Easy 8)

This way you can have a nicely made throttle & a reliable hall sensor based input to your controller.

melodious   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1154
Joined: Aug 26 2011 8:57am
Location: East Coast, U.S.A.

Re: Hall throttle box interface

Post by melodious » Apr 26 2014 7:13am

Say goodbye to hand cramps when everything is set up perfectly.
Surly Ogre rigid 29er, rear 10T MAC @ 50V 25AH & 40A: 30mph road/gravel/hill machine
42" dual diagonal Eskateboard @6s & 90mm wheels
Next: eMTB @10-12s & 8"-12" pneumatic wheels; Got Strapped? d-(',')z

cwah   10 GW

10 GW
Posts: 4142
Joined: Jul 24 2011 5:42am
Location: Between paris and london

Re: Hall throttle box interface

Post by cwah » Apr 26 2014 7:13am

aaah sweeet!!

what's a good discreet motorcycle throttle to put in? i want to try one
Help me find my stolen electric brompton: http://bit.ly/1a0vbBC and Bosch Sinus B3 http://bit.ly/1eV0WQz

User avatar
gwhy!   1 MW

1 MW
Posts: 1651
Joined: Jun 08 2011 3:47pm
Location: Bristol, Uk

Re: Hall throttle box interface

Post by gwhy! » Apr 26 2014 8:57am

cwah wrote:aaah sweeet!!

what's a good discreet motorcycle throttle to put in? i want to try one
any motorcycle "single cable pull throttle" will do the job or to be honest anything that pulls a cable i.e even a bicycle gear shifter will work. some of the cheapest throttles are advertised as pitbike throttles and can be bought for as little as £10 this is with a throttle cable but there are many to types, styles and quality to choose from. But please be aware that you may have to shorten a standard throttle cable unless you have a cable with a inline adjuster.

cwah   10 GW

10 GW
Posts: 4142
Joined: Jul 24 2011 5:42am
Location: Between paris and london

Re: Hall throttle box interface

Post by cwah » Apr 26 2014 6:47pm

I was looking in amazon and ebay and I could only find this one?
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/THROTTLE-TWIS ... 48651771b8

How come they are so hard to find? Any one you use and recommend?
Help me find my stolen electric brompton: http://bit.ly/1a0vbBC and Bosch Sinus B3 http://bit.ly/1eV0WQz

User avatar
gwhy!   1 MW

1 MW
Posts: 1651
Joined: Jun 08 2011 3:47pm
Location: Bristol, Uk

Re: Hall throttle box interface

Post by gwhy! » Apr 26 2014 7:05pm

Just do a ebay search for pitbike throttle I personally use a domino trials throttles.

cwah   10 GW

10 GW
Posts: 4142
Joined: Jul 24 2011 5:42am
Location: Between paris and london

Re: Hall throttle box interface

Post by cwah » Apr 26 2014 7:16pm

what about this one?
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/GASGAS-FANTIC ... 2c65fc281b

would it work?
Help me find my stolen electric brompton: http://bit.ly/1a0vbBC and Bosch Sinus B3 http://bit.ly/1eV0WQz

User avatar
gwhy!   1 MW

1 MW
Posts: 1651
Joined: Jun 08 2011 3:47pm
Location: Bristol, Uk

Re: Hall throttle box interface

Post by gwhy! » Apr 26 2014 7:39pm

Yes thats the throttles I use. The only disadvantaged with thoes is that there is no cable adjuster built into the throttle so ypu will either have to make yor own cabe or try to get a cable with a inline adjuster
Edit:
Or something like this http://m.ebay.co.uk/itm/360731646475?nav=SEARCH

or http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/PITBIKE-THROT ... 3f279ac4c4

or something a bit more fancy http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Racing-1-4-Qu ... 3f331fab6f

or a thumb throttle http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Throttle-Leve ... 2ed07c6e32

cwah   10 GW

10 GW
Posts: 4142
Joined: Jul 24 2011 5:42am
Location: Between paris and london

Re: Hall throttle box interface

Post by cwah » Apr 27 2014 4:58am

Hey thanks for your time.

I think I'm going to get this one:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/360731646475

And if I add your hall throttle box, it should directly work?

If all work fine I'll get more from you and fit it to my other bikes :)


ps: Maybe you should sell like a complete throttle with hall in endlessspehere. So it could be plug and play. Explain benefits over normal throttle and I'm sure people would want it! I suppose it makes it better than the magura? more control?
Help me find my stolen electric brompton: http://bit.ly/1a0vbBC and Bosch Sinus B3 http://bit.ly/1eV0WQz

User avatar
gwhy!   1 MW

1 MW
Posts: 1651
Joined: Jun 08 2011 3:47pm
Location: Bristol, Uk

Re: Hall throttle box interface

Post by gwhy! » Apr 27 2014 5:25am

In theory the throttle you have linked to will work as plug and play, But the cable may still not have enough adjustment to operate my boxes correctly so you still may have to shorten the cable of the throttle. I will not offer a throttle and cable as a complete kit as there are to many variables for people preferences , some might like a really short cable other may like a long cable or some may what a ali throttle body or a plastic throttle body. I may try to find a throttle/cable that will work out of the box just so I can point people to it knowing that no adjustments will have to be made to the throttle cable. or there is always a emergency diy cable kit for people that are not confident/dont know how to shorten cables. something like this http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Universal-Mot ... 1e8369109a
12.JPG
12.JPG (28.39 KiB) Viewed 7077 times

Post Reply