My New 2018 GreenBike USA GB1 500 Watt Fat Tire Folder

LeftieBiker

100 kW
I've been riding E-bikes for about 17 years now, and mainly EZIP Trailz bikes since 2013. Last Summer I finally upgraded to a Magnum Metro. It's a great bike, but it's been a bit problematic for Winter riding (the lowest assist speed is too fast for cold PAS riding) even with a windshield, so I've been looking for a folder, both for the smaller size and hopefully slower assist speeds, and the ability to carry it in our two cars. I'd been looking at everything from a $700 fat tire folder on Ebay, to the Rad Mini for about $1700 with fenders and rack. I eventually happened across the GreenBike GB1 and GB-5 bikes, and I was struck both by the large number of extra value features (geared 500 watt 8-Fun motor, pack-powered lights front and rear, turn signals in the taillight, fenders and rack included, etc) and the almost universally positive reviews. I've had a LOT of trouble with bikes getting damaged in shipping, and one of my prime considerations was how well a given bike would survive the trip to me. Several reviews mentioned the bikes arriving in perfect shape, even with a damaged box. I was then torn between the older version of the bike with 2.75" street tires (lighter and cheaper, but with a very primitive control panel, only 3 assist speeds, and rear rim brake) and the newer fat tire version with full LCD panel, 6 assist levels with two modes, and full mechanical disk brakes. Despite it being somewhat heavier and pricier, I settled on the fat tire GB1. So after doing some price shopping I scored a deal and got one for $1225 with free shipping and no tax, in one of the colors (blue) I liked.