Solar setup for internal LED panels

Lovelock

10 W
Morning,

I've been in and around electric bikes for around 5 years, built a few, learnt a load about batteries and what is needed etc.

I'm by no means an expert, but can work out the right battery and controller size etc for a certain motor blah blah.

Anyway, the house I've been renovating is an old victorian property with a rear extension which means the dining room is basically in the dark all day and no light.

My plan is to create a faux window / sky lights in the hall way using LED panels (if you've been to Ikea you'll have seen their fake windows) and I would like to use Solar for this.

I'm very up for learning on this subject in terms of what battery, how much power is needed, what size solar panel etc but no idea where to start.

My first question would be; how do I work out what size battery / solar panel do I need to run X amount of LED panels?

My goal is to have them 'always on' so it's just a case of them being on when the sun is out (like windows...) maybe I can skip the battery?

I'd not use a battery. I have two 100 watt solar panels. max v around 22v, rated 12v full load. So i'd buy 10-50 of the 3.6v LED's off ebay that are less than $2 for a pack of 10. they sell those "natural color" that cost more, you may want them. i like the cool white better than daylight 8)
then i'd have to wire up an experiment a to match the series connections for less than 22v.
I have 9 in my garage over my car, i like it, but you may want a lens to disperse the light.
read this https://endless-sphere.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=106675
i'd say the 1watt are plenty bright, they need a heat sink too :thumb: