Hunting mid-drive build - frame choices

Coach v

100 µW
I am looking to build a mid-drive hunting/trail bike. I live and play in the mountains of rural NE California. My budget is around $2K, but I can stretch higher. I am unsure if I want a 27.5+ or a fit tire. I think I want a hardtail for simplicity. I will be buying a used bike or frame for the conversion. I know I want hydraulic disc brakes, quality components, the ability to attach/build a rear rack, and the ability to attached a Bob trailer. I am pretty sure I will be using a bbshd for the mid-drive.

What bikes/frames do you recommend I look for in this ebike build? There are so many out there, I am looking for some direction on where to start.

Will those newer bikes play well with an bbshd install? I read that the bottom bracket compatibility on newer bikes can be an issue? I am new to this and trying to not make many major mistakes.

markz said:
Frames themselves look good, just need more info on what type of BB it is.

I guess that is what my question is asking. How do I determine if a bottom bracket will work with the bbshd mid-drive motor? Is there a list of bike brands/models that work?

MadRhino said:
For hunting I would build a cargo bike.

I am looking for a standard type bike as I will be doing a lot of scouting and miles in pretty rough terrain. I have been given a Bob trailer, so when hunting with gear (blinds, stands, ect.) I will have that. With no trailer, I will have small pack and emergency kit on the rear rack.

Subject: Hunting
Why ride & carry , strapped , $6K EV, packs, knives, food and lights to the wide open land of truck driving drunkards armed with $100 shotguns?
Have you seen the movie "Deliverance"? Ever tangled with a hillbilly?
You crazy man
Mike V.

Attachments

• Hunter.png
    Hunter.png
    146.4 KB · Views: 851
Stealth_Chopper said:
Subject: Hunting