Am I hosed? (Build question)

slm9s

100 mW
The bike is a Kona Dawg Supreme with a 20" frame. I have a BBSHD mocked up with a Luna 42t ring on it. With enough spacers on the drive side of the BBSHD to just BARELY clear the chainstay, the motor is shifted to the drive side enough that the motor bracket bolt "mount" is hitting the downtube before the middle of the motor does. This is in addition to the poor chainline this situation is giving me. The chain is inline with 2nd outer-most gear on the cassette. I'm new to this, is that going to give horrible performance? I see my options as being:
A. Build it up and ride it with a spacer between the motor and the frame so that bolt "mount" doesn't dent my frame.
B. I could grind just a little off the top corner of that bolt mount and the motor would hit the frame as it should
C. Get a different donor bike.
D. A smaller chain ring would let me move the motor back toward the non-drive side, but then my chainline would be even worse as the smaller ring wouldn't have the offset this one does.

Thoughts? Advice?
Thanks.

Attachments

• 20210801_144541.jpg
    20210801_144541.jpg
    323.2 KB · Views: 721
  • 20210801_144532.jpg
    20210801_144532.jpg
    206.2 KB · Views: 721
  • 20210801_144522.jpg
    20210801_144522.jpg
    413.3 KB · Views: 721
If I were in your situation, I'd make a conformal spacer to go between the downtube and the motor body. Like some epoxy putty in a small zipper bag, squished between the parts while the resin sets. That's better than the point contact you get from a typical installation anyway.

Don't use a rubbery material (e.g. Sugru) for this. You want the motor to be completely immobilized. An elastic spacer material would allow a small amount of back and forth movement that could cause the lockrings to loosen.