Just Another Electra Lux Fat 7D Build

HoraceLai

10 mW
I wanted a relaxed fat tire e-bike for various purposes: hauling the kids, going on all kinds of surfaces, commuting in a relaxed way, hauling cargo. After much Googling I found the Electra Lux Fat 7D, which has been converted many times before due to the possibility of it being able to fit the BBSHD inside the frame with some slight modifications. So I ordered one (March 2019) along with a BBSHD kit with a battery (I think July 2019). This ended up being a much longer project that I initially thought due to family (getting a 2nd child), and technical issues (described later).

The bike came with several scratches from the shipping. The company I ordered from was nice enough to refund some money back for it. At this point I was still waiting for the ebike kit so I started playing with the bike around the area, added a rack, and a child seat in the front.
IMG_20190515_193849.jpg

I needed some fenders and found some cheap ones in a general hardware chain store nearby. I mounted the front ones quite easily but the rear ones will require some fabrication which I ended up doing half a year later.
IMG_20190624_195040.jpg

At this point, all the ebike components had already arrived, but I was procrastinating and just in general out of energy at the end of the day, every day. By the time I finished denting the downtube, it was already January 2020.
IMG_20200116_131153.jpg

And by the time I finished denting both tubes enough to fit the motor, it was already April 2020!
IMG_20200413_132756.jpg