Rider63's Ebike/emotocross from scratch. QS205-Sabvoton powered

rider63

100 mW
Hi all :D , I'm new on this forum.
I'm french, so sorry for my language faults.

First little presentation of me, I am 30 year olds, mechanical enginer, practice as a hobby machining and metal construction since 10 years, I'm new in ebike world, but mountain biking is my passion since 20 years ( downhill, enduro, skatepark and dirt jumping)...

I'm here to share with you my build project.

It's my first build project, and I'm a little empressed to have a first fonctionnal prototype so it will be perfectible and I has to make compromise to reduce the amount of work.
The objective of this bike is to have an offroad ebike for making travel from home to work, riding only in offroad. 20km each travel, 40km go back. It need to be capable of high speed in offroad so long geometrie and big suspension.

Here is some detail of it:
-downhill bike inspired geometry (1260mm wheelbase, 64deg head angle, 480mm reach, 340mm BB heigh.)
-230mm rear suspension travel ( fox dhx2 downhill bike shox)
-200mm front suspension travel ( fox 40 performance elite fork)
-220mm front and rear downhill disc brake
-27.5 inch front/rear wheel
-sabvoton 72150
-QS 205 5T motor
-72V 20S16P li-ion battery
-wheigh around 50-55kg
aluminium 6061 frame, and aluminium 7075 machined part for the rest.

here is some picture of my 3d and what I already have (work in progress, not finished yet)

please let me your impression about it, and any advice. thanks you

I wonder if a tubular frame would lighten the weight considerably. the 'illegalbike' posted on here seems to have similar specs as to what you're going for but apparently is nearly 40% lighter than your estimated weight. you could also make a 'modular' battery, i.e. a 20S8P pack that allows you to double the capacity by connecting another one in parallel.

if you wanna do "emotocross" a 17Kg Rearwheel will not be that fun as you may expect.